Oh god.
This is killer. If people don't start to learn the difference between "your" and "you're", "there" and "they're" and "their", "then" and "than", I may just move out of the country.
Adults are making these silly little mistakes. And the sad thing is, it's not uncommon. So here is a mini grammar lesson from yours truly because if you guys don't stop commenting on pictures with "your so pretty" I will chop off YOUR head. (figuratively, of course)

Allow me to get started! :-)

The "Your" and "You're" Debacle

"Your" is possessive to you. As in something belongs to YOU.
For example;
Your cat just ran into your house!
Your cat. As in, this cat belongs to you.
Your house. As in, this house belongs to you.
Get it? Good.

"You're" is a contraction. Kids, do know what a contraction is? It's when a word is combined with another word(and it makes sense) for example: should+have=should've; I+am=I'm. Get it?
So...you+are=you're
YOU'RE YOU'RE YOU'RE.
For example;
You're really pretty!
You are really pretty. As in you+are=you're.

No more "wow, your welcome!". No more "you're house or my house?". No. No. No.

Second, there are three different homonyms. Goddamn the English language.

The Three "Thares"(Pronunciation-wise)

"There" is a theoretical place. It is a noun.
There can be anywhere from another galaxy to 5 feet away.
For example;
Look over there, at the place!
There is the noun in the sentence. As in, the place in the sentence. "There" is the only noun of the trio of "thares".


"They're" is, you guessed it, a contraction. Remember what a contraction is? You better! This contraction is: they+are=they're. I know, brilliant.
For example;
They're going to get ice cream.
They are going to get ice cream. As in, multiple people/beings/whatever's are going simultaneously to get ice cream.

"Their" is possessive to them, whomever "they" are. 
Kind of like "your", but for multiple people.
For example;
Their parents told them not to come.
Their parents. As in, the parents belong to them.

Now that we have conquered the three "thares" together, we take on a trickier topic:

The Challenging and Somewhat Confusing Case of "Then" and "Than"

Guys, this one is really actually very confusing okay. Like, I can even understand why perhaps everyone doesn't get this. But let me explain it to you.

"Then" is a conjunctive adverb. I didn't even know what that was, so I had to look it up. But basically, this is what it is:
A conjunctive adverb is an adverb that connects two clauses. Conjunctive adverbs show cause and effect, sequence, contrast, comparison, or other relationships.

So basically I think that means that "then" is connecting a couple of clauses that need a transition. Basically.
For example;
The dog ran, then he ate the treat.
The first clause is "the dog ran" connected to the second clause, "he ate the treat" by using "then".
Yay.

"Than" is also some very long word describing its part of speech, but honestly just know that "better than" is right, while "better then" is wrong.

Well, I hope I taught you something because that was actually really bugging me as I looked at someone's instagram comments and all of them were "your pretty" "I was their" "i like him better then you" ugh. People.

If you want to correct some more grammar mistakes you most likely make, here's a

Xoxo gossip girl
Ps No. No. Winter break cannot end this cannot happen.







Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Heyo, I'm Rachel Bear, like the animal. I like reading and looking at funny things. Here's my blog :)